Author Topic: TBasic Formatting  (Read 6950 times)

PLCstar

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 24
  • I'm a ladder logic fool!
    • View Profile
    • Morningstar Home Page
TBasic Formatting
« on: May 04, 2004, 12:05:53 PM »
I wrote a bunch of custom functions using the tab key to indent the code so the program was easy to follow.

Kind of like this....

  if testio(no_weld) and testio(no_pick) then
        setlcd 1,1,"WELD & PICK BYPASSED"
        else
                if testio(no_weld) then
                setlcd 1,1,"  WELDER BYPASSED  "
                else
                        if testio(no_pick) then
                        setlcd 1,1,"  PICKER BYPASSED  "
                        else
                                setlcd 1,1,"   RING WELD-BOT   "

                        endif
                endif
        endif

It looked great on the screen, but the printout only displayed square boxes for each tab. This made it even harder to follow on the printout.

So I had to replace all of my tabs with spaces so the printout could be followed by those lesser experienced can tell me how to program...lol :)

So is it me or is it the software?

WinXP printing to a HP Laserjet 8000 via lan.

support

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3170
    • View Profile
    • Internet Programmable PLCs
Re:TBasic Formatting
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2004, 02:44:05 PM »
Hm, you are right. Seems like the software folks did not translate the non printable tab character into spaces before printing out. The square boxes are provided by the JRE to indicate non-printable characters. This will be fed back to software team for future enhancement. Meanwhile, spaces are nice....
« Last Edit: May 04, 2004, 02:47:47 PM by support »
Email: support@triplc.com
Tel: 1-877-TRI-PLCS

PLCstar

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 24
  • I'm a ladder logic fool!
    • View Profile
    • Morningstar Home Page
Re:TBasic Formatting
« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2004, 08:45:09 PM »
Thanks, will look for the fix in the next release....lol

PLCstar

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 24
  • I'm a ladder logic fool!
    • View Profile
    • Morningstar Home Page
Re:TBasic Formatting
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2006, 04:19:15 PM »
Has this ever been fixed?

Looks like I have another potential project for one of your PLCs and I am curious what I need to get up to speed and make my printouts look good for the customer.

support

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3170
    • View Profile
    • Internet Programmable PLCs
Re:TBasic Formatting
« Reply #4 on: April 10, 2006, 08:32:02 AM »
Hm, looks like TAB printing is not supported by current TRiLOGI software. Use the spaces, it works better for this program.
Email: support@triplc.com
Tel: 1-877-TRI-PLCS

FQ-ONG

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 61
    • View Profile
Re:TBasic Formatting
« Reply #5 on: June 17, 2006, 03:46:36 AM »
Do it have any influence on PLC during the PLC execute this custom functions with a lot of empty space or tab?

Thank You

evanh

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 59
  • y=A+B*(1-cos(2*Pi*x))
    • View Profile
Re:TBasic Formatting
« Reply #6 on: June 17, 2006, 04:23:29 AM »
That's an easy no.  The text of the program is not sent to the PLC, a "tokenised" equivalent is sent instead.  Things like spaces and comments vanish while commands likely shrink to one or two bytes.


Evan