Internet PLC Forum

General => Technical support => Topic started by: PLCstar on May 04, 2004, 12:05:53 PM

Title: TBasic Formatting
Post by: PLCstar on May 04, 2004, 12:05:53 PM
I wrote a bunch of custom functions using the tab key to indent the code so the program was easy to follow.

Kind of like this....

  if testio(no_weld) and testio(no_pick) then
        setlcd 1,1,"WELD & PICK BYPASSED"
        else
                if testio(no_weld) then
                setlcd 1,1,"  WELDER BYPASSED  "
                else
                        if testio(no_pick) then
                        setlcd 1,1,"  PICKER BYPASSED  "
                        else
                                setlcd 1,1,"   RING WELD-BOT   "

                        endif
                endif
        endif

It looked great on the screen, but the printout only displayed square boxes for each tab. This made it even harder to follow on the printout.

So I had to replace all of my tabs with spaces so the printout could be followed by those lesser experienced can tell me how to program...lol :)

So is it me or is it the software?

WinXP printing to a HP Laserjet 8000 via lan.
Title: Re:TBasic Formatting
Post by: support on May 04, 2004, 02:44:05 PM
Hm, you are right. Seems like the software folks did not translate the non printable tab character into spaces before printing out. The square boxes are provided by the JRE to indicate non-printable characters. This will be fed back to software team for future enhancement. Meanwhile, spaces are nice....
Title: Re:TBasic Formatting
Post by: PLCstar on May 09, 2004, 08:45:09 PM
Thanks, will look for the fix in the next release....lol
Title: Re:TBasic Formatting
Post by: PLCstar on April 09, 2006, 04:19:15 PM
Has this ever been fixed?

Looks like I have another potential project for one of your PLCs and I am curious what I need to get up to speed and make my printouts look good for the customer.
Title: Re:TBasic Formatting
Post by: support on April 10, 2006, 08:32:02 AM
Hm, looks like TAB printing is not supported by current TRiLOGI software. Use the spaces, it works better for this program.
Title: Re:TBasic Formatting
Post by: FQ-ONG on June 17, 2006, 03:46:36 AM
Do it have any influence on PLC during the PLC execute this custom functions with a lot of empty space or tab?

Thank You
Title: Re:TBasic Formatting
Post by: evanh on June 17, 2006, 04:23:29 AM
That's an easy no.  The text of the program is not sent to the PLC, a "tokenised" equivalent is sent instead.  Things like spaces and comments vanish while commands likely shrink to one or two bytes.


Evan