Author Topic: Using output twice  (Read 7515 times)

prginocx

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • I'm a llama!
    • View Profile
Using output twice
« on: September 13, 2006, 01:21:38 PM »
In my ladder rungs I want to latch two different relays at two different
times, but they will activate the same output a different way.   This is to generate two fault messages.   One blinking light, one solid light ON.

Program won't allow me to do this.   In fact I can't operate them in the manual mode, either "monitoring mode".

support

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3171
    • View Profile
    • Internet Programmable PLCs
Re:Using output twice
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2006, 06:10:15 PM »
In ladder logic all the COILS cannot only be triggered at a single rung. So normally you use two different relays at two different rung and bring their contact to another circuit and the two parallel contacts are then used to drive a single output coil.

Email: support@triplc.com
Tel: 1-877-TRI-PLCS

prginocx

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • I'm a llama!
    • View Profile
Re:Using output twice
« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2006, 10:51:20 AM »
I'm not quite sure I understand.    Are you saying I can't have a rung with RLY1 turning on Output 1 via the .5mS special relay blinking..

And then another rung with RLY2 turning on Output 1 solid ON.

So there is NO way to utilize the light blinking for one purpose, then solid ON for another purpose ?

support

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3171
    • View Profile
    • Internet Programmable PLCs
Re:Using output twice
« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2006, 01:01:33 PM »
This is actually a fundamental Ladder Logic principle. You have to make use of internal relays for such purpose.

E.g.  
1) some logic rung turns on and off RLY 1 - blinking

2) Some other logic rungs turns on RLY 2 - SOLID

   RLY1                    OUT1
|---||-------------------(OUT)
|  RLY2     |
|---||-----


This way, the same output can be controlled differently by either the RLY1 or RLY2. Note that if  RLY2 is ON then the OUT1 will be solid ON regardless of the pulsing of the RLY1.
« Last Edit: September 14, 2006, 01:04:02 PM by support »
Email: support@triplc.com
Tel: 1-877-TRI-PLCS

prginocx

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • I'm a llama!
    • View Profile
Re:Using output twice
« Reply #4 on: September 14, 2006, 01:42:24 PM »
So really what you are saying is I have a Fundamental Mis-Understanding of ladder logic ?   That is entirely possible, likely even...

No wonder I couldn't figure it out.   I will do your solution and see how it works.   Thank you very much.