Author Topic: Modbus  (Read 6543 times)

can

• I'm a llama!
    • View Profile
Modbus
« on: February 22, 2011, 11:39:43 PM »
Hi. If I have a MD888 as a master, a laptop running Excel link to extract data from the master, master sending and collecting data from 2 slaves 888, will the system be fast? if slave 2 needs to depend on data from slave 1 to run, is it the best way to route the data from slave 2 to master then master to slave 1 in order to run? Or is there other ways?

support

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
    • Internet Programmable PLCs
Re:Modbus
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2011, 02:57:34 AM »
The speed is always limited to the slowest link in your system. Whether it is fast enough will depend on your application's specific need and we can't say whether it is "fast.

The two slave PLCs may be able to interact using a separate serial link. Eg. Each PLC can have their RS232 converted to RS485 and link to the master. The two slave PLCs can still connect their COMM3 RS485 together and exchange data without going through the master. That is certainly faster than letting the master route the data between the slave.

Email: support@triplc.com
Tel: 1-877-TRI-PLCS

can

• I'm a llama!
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2011, 06:28:01 AM »
Hi. Does it mean I should connect Auto485 to both slave PLC comm 1 and link it to Master comm 3 to communicate while the 2 slave PLC will communicate using comm 3? So Master PLC will do a readmodbus(3,1,1) in order to get the data?

support

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2011, 03:14:19 PM »
Yes, you can set it up that way.

The master PLC will read from two different slaves using two different IDs. While the two slaves can talk to each other using their own private RS485 bus.

can

• I'm a llama!
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: February 23, 2011, 04:32:09 PM »
Hi. Thanks for the advice. Do I need to factor in anything when programing the slaves to talk to each other?