Author Topic: Frequency/DI to Analog  (Read 7202 times)

cnford1

• I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
    • View Profile
Frequency/DI to Analog
« on: June 24, 2003, 12:43:20 PM »
I am new to PLC and have purchased a T100MD888+. I would like to convert a frequency which will reference speed and a digital input which will determine direction and have it scale an analog output. The frequency will be from 0 to 300hz while the digital input will be either a logic 1 (forward) or  0 for reverse. I would like to scale the output of the analog output so I may feed that into the analog input of a microcontroller which will handle the motor output based on the incoming analog input. The microcontroller itself will not handle the frequency and DI that is why I purchased the T100MD. Also, there is a left and right side to this circuit as it will be driving motors on the left and right side of a cart. So I will have frequencies for left and right and DIs for left and right. This will need to output 2 analog signal for left and right.

Thanks in advance for any help that is offered.

Clyde
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 04:00:00 PM by 1076562000 »

support

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
    • Internet Programmable PLCs
Re: Frequency/DI to Analog
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2003, 02:41:44 PM »
It is unbelievably easy to perform frequency measurement using the T100MD pulse measurement capabiliy ;D . All you need to do is to  execute the PMON 1 function once to enable input #3 as a frequency measurement input. Once enabled, you then simply use the PULSEFREQUENCY(1)  function to read the frequency of the pulses appearing at the input #3. E.g.

F = PULSEFREQUENCY(1)
  SETDAC 1,F       ' direct output without scaling.

You can measure from 1 Hz to 10000 Hz. You can either execute the above function every scan or use a clock pulse to periodically read the pulse frequency.