Author Topic: Connecting to Digital Ouputs on T100MD-888+  (Read 5620 times)

Kevin Li

Connecting to Digital Ouputs on T100MD-888+
« on: April 06, 2006, 11:20:49 AM »
Hello,

I am new to the PLC and electronics world.  So please bear with me.

My question is concerning the hookup of the T100MD-888+ PLC to a motor driver (MD2S-P)
http://www.usdigital.com/products/md2s/

In the MD series Installation manual it suggests to use a current limiting resistor to make the PLC compatible with the motor driver's 5V inputs.
I did the math as per Page 9 of the manual (http://www.tri-plc.com/MD-man.pdf)

It is my understanding that this is because when the PLC is logic low, it pulls up to +24V.  So the stepper driver would experience a very large current flow if it was not restricted by a resistor.

Calculations:
Given I_f = 5.5mA
(24-5)/0.0055 = 3454 Ohm.

So all that I would need is a 3.6k to 3.8k resistor for each line to limit the logic low current from the PLC to the stepper?

Also, is this "opto-isolated" as they suggest as necessary?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,
Kevin Li

support

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
    • Internet Programmable PLCs
Re:Connecting to Digital Ouputs on T100MD-888+
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2006, 12:58:29 AM »
Yes, this driver has isolated inputs.

1) connect isolator ground to PLC ground.

2) connect PLC's 24V power supply to the "Isolator Power" input.

3) Connect STEP in series with a 3.7K ohm resistor to the PLC output #5.

4) Connect DIRECTION in series with a 3.7K ohm resistor to the PLC output #1.

5) If you use the PLC output to control the "Reduce Current" and "Inhibit" inputs, then also connect 3.7K ohm resistor to each.

Run the STEPMOVE command to run the motor.

« Last Edit: April 10, 2006, 07:35:10 AM by support »
Email: support@triplc.com
Tel: 1-877-TRI-PLCS

Kevin Li

« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2006, 01:36:44 AM »
Hello,

Thanks for the reply.  Saves me having to buy a 5V power supply.