Author Topic: How can I control Servo motor by T100M??  (Read 1952 times)

Henry

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
    • View Profile
How can I control Servo motor by T100M??
« on: November 01, 2002, 05:27:21 AM »
How can I control Servo motor by T100M??
 ???
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 12:00:00 AM by 1076562000 »

support

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3105
    • View Profile
    • Internet Programmable PLCs
Re: How can I control Servo motor by T100M??
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2002, 06:03:56 PM »
A T100M PLC only has 2 stepper controllers and it is not designed for direct interfacing to Servo motor and encoder. However, there are some servo driver on the market which act like a stepper motor and have the loop closed at the driver. These type of servo motor will accept pulse and direction inputs from the PLCs. Such servo motor can be used since to the T100MD they are just like stepper motor even though these servo drive are really closed loop system.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 12:00:00 AM by 1076562000 »
Email: support@triplc.com
Tel: 1-877-TRI-PLCS

vomitz

  • Guest
Re: How can I control Servo motor by T100M??
« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2002, 04:05:34 PM »
so how can i built a machine that is using servo motor and the PLC? get an additional motor driver then what?

regards.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 12:00:00 AM by 1076562000 »

support

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3105
    • View Profile
    • Internet Programmable PLCs
Re: How can I control Servo motor by T100M??
« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2002, 04:03:24 AM »
Check with your servo motor supplier for a servo driver that accept pulses and direction input as if it is a stepper driver. You can then use the PLC's stepper output to drive it.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 12:00:00 AM by 1076562000 »
Email: support@triplc.com
Tel: 1-877-TRI-PLCS

amoseley

  • Guest
Re: How can I control Servo motor by T100M??
« Reply #4 on: June 18, 2003, 08:02:32 PM »
You can also get servo motor controllers with RS485/232 ports. You send the drive position comands via the serial port and the drive does the rest. I looked at them a couple of years ago but can't remember the make.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 12:00:00 AM by 1076562000 »

ironbutt

  • Guest
Re: How can I control Servo motor by T100M??
« Reply #5 on: June 20, 2003, 03:02:29 AM »
Compumotor sells an integrated motor and controller that accepts RS232/485 commands as well as step and direction inputs.

There are others as well, but I don't have the other info handy.

Good luck.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 12:00:00 AM by 1076562000 »

vomitz

  • Guest
Re: How can I control Servo motor by T100M??
« Reply #6 on: December 19, 2003, 04:12:02 AM »
Hi guys. Am I correct to say a motor driver is also known as the motor amplifier as well? So if the driver is good enough to accept pulse like those used to control a stepper motor, the positioning of the servo motor is of no problem on a single axis? Does that mean there's no need to use a motion controller like Mitsubishi's FX2n-10GM?

regards
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 12:00:00 AM by 1076562000 »

philipjoseph

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 57
    • View Profile
Re: How can I control Servo motor by T100M??
« Reply #7 on: January 25, 2004, 01:38:30 PM »
Hi,
There are many servo drives ( EMERSON,YASKAWA,.....) that you can send the parameters throughout the RS232/RS485 and after the servo drive has saved them, you can use an output from the PLC to give the start signal to the Servo Drive.
You can program the servo to run an especific lenght according to the parameters.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 12:00:01 AM by -1 »
Philip.