Author Topic: How to change PLC's ID in TL5?  (Read 8570 times)

Forum Admin

  • Administrator
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 20
  • Let's control via the NET
    • View Profile
    • Internet Programmable PLCs
How to change PLC's ID in TL5?
« on: March 13, 2002, 12:34:09 PM »
In TRiLOGI Version 5.0, the PLC's ID can only be changed from the TLServer using the host Link commands that you enter at the "Serial port Setup" screen. But first of all you need to know the current ID of the PLC (default is 01) which you can check using the "IR*" command. You will then enter the multi-point format of the "IWnn" command to change the PLC's ID to nn (hex).

 E.g.

"@01IW0500*" to change the PLC ID to 05. (original ID=01)
"@05IWB400*" to change the PLC ID to B4 hex (original ID=05)

(the "00" is a wildcard FCS which overwrite the need to enter the correct error check code called the FCS). Always use IR* to verify that the ID has been correctly changed to the desired number.

 ?
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 04:00:03 PM by -1 »

support

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3170
    • View Profile
    • Internet Programmable PLCs
Re: How to change PLC's ID in TL5?
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2002, 08:57:34 PM »
In TLServer 2.0 which is supplied with TRiLOGI Version 5.1, there is a "Change ID" button on the "Serial Port Setup" screen that will help you change the ID automatically. You can still use "@nnIWxx00*" command to do it if you want. But the "Change ID" button just make life a little easier.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 04:00:00 PM by 1076562000 »
Email: support@triplc.com
Tel: 1-877-TRI-PLCS

vijay

  • Guest
Re: How to change PLC's ID in TL5?
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2003, 10:55:49 AM »
How can you change the ID of the PLC from the program. Say you want the user to change the ID using a BASIC function. The user could select new ID by two inputs as UP/DOWNbuttons.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 04:00:00 PM by 1076562000 »

support

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3170
    • View Profile
    • Internet Programmable PLCs
Re: How to change PLC's ID in TL5?
« Reply #3 on: June 04, 2003, 01:22:24 PM »
That is not possible. The ID cannot be changed by the program itself. Only an external host can change the PLC's ID.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 04:00:00 PM by 1076562000 »
Email: support@triplc.com
Tel: 1-877-TRI-PLCS

support

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3170
    • View Profile
    • Internet Programmable PLCs
Re:How to change PLC's ID in TL5?
« Reply #4 on: September 04, 2005, 12:02:03 PM »
Starting from T100MD+ or T100MX+ PLCs with firmware version r49, the PLC can change its own ID using the command:

    SETSYSTEM  8, n

n is the ID between 0 and 255.

Note: The M-series PLC has always been able to read its own ID using the value returned from the function:

     STATUS(8)

Email: support@triplc.com
Tel: 1-877-TRI-PLCS