Author Topic: TBASIC Input On/Off Question  (Read 8708 times)

MatrixMan

• View Profile
TBASIC Input On/Off Question
« on: December 07, 2019, 12:19:19 PM »
I am new to TBASIC.  I want to write a simple program that looks to see if a switch is on or off, but when I wrote it in i-TriLOGI 6.x for my FMD88 I found that the Input
  • =0 treats this as an integer instead of a boolean 0 or 1.  I guess I don't understand how the system generates the integer to know what bit to read to see when it is on or off.  Here is the code I used:

IF Input[10]=0 Then SetTimerSV 9, GetTimerSV(16)
Else SetTimerSV 9, GetTimerSV(15)
ENDIF
RETURN

The simulator seems to always return 0 whether the switch is on or off so the code doesn't work.  Also, if it is the first time I run it then it might have a 1 until I run it again and then it is back to 0 even though the switch position didn't change.  I think it has something to do with refreshing, but I am not sure.  I appreciate any help.  Thanks.

garysdickinson

• Old PLC Coder
    • View Profile
Re: TBASIC Input On/Off Question
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2019, 07:18:50 PM »
 Input[10]. Allows read/write access to  groups of 16 input bits.

Boolean: TBASIC does not have a Boolean numeric type.  All arithmetic work is done with 32-bit sighed values. PLC data can be stored as 32-bit signed, 16-bit signed or 8-bit sign values.  The Fx / Smart Tile adds 32-bit floating values.  No Boolean.

The INPUTs can be accessed by TBASIC as a group of 16 INPUTs using the INPUT[n]. You are accessing an array of inputs in groups of 16.  The same access is available for RELAYS[] and many other PLC internals.

Accessing groups of INPUTs as an integer:

A = Input[1].     ' copy the state of Inputs 1..16 to the variable a.

The argument in the square brackets determines which group of inputs that you are accessing:
Input[1] accesses physical INPUTS 1..16 as an integer.
Input[2] accessed physical INPUTS 17..32 as an integer
   .  There is a pattern to this