Author Topic: It smoked  (Read 6322 times)

Yoseph

It smoked
« on: January 02, 2003, 09:18:07 AM »
::)

I am new to PLCs and I am willing to do what ever it takes to learn it.
I have a T100MD. I wrote a one line ladder logic with a NO contact and
a relay, just to see if I can monitor the out put port with a scope; just when
I did a program transfer to the PLC, a resistor behind the DB9 connector
started to smoke. Now I can't talk to the PLC. Did I get a defective PLC
or was the ckt that distructive?
                                                        thanks
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 04:00:00 PM by 1076562000 »

support

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
    • Internet Programmable PLCs
Re: It smoked
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2003, 02:32:41 PM »
you may want to check your PLC power supply and its wiring. The reason is as follow:

That resistor you mentioned connects the ground between your PLC 0V and the PC's ground. It serves to tie the two side ground potential together and to limit the ground current flow between the two devices when they are connected together. Under normal circumtances, there is very little ground current flow if the two sides power supply are cleanly isolated from each other.

It appears that you have a ground fault, meaning that your power supply to the PLC is not a clean isolation from the PC's power suppy. You need to check the power supply. You can verify this by measuring the voltage between pin 5 of the PC's serial port and the 0V of your PLC's power supply (before the two are connected). Normally these should be just some mV of random readings, but if there is a ground fault then there is a fixed voltage between the two devices and if the voltage difference is large enough it will burn the resistor after prolong exposure. Put your meter to both AC and DC range to make sure that there is no AC leakage to your PLC power supply.