Internet PLC Forum

General => Technical support => Topic started by: Forum Admin on March 13, 2002, 12:34:09 PM

Title: How to change PLC's ID in TL5?
Post by: Forum Admin on March 13, 2002, 12:34:09 PM
In TRiLOGI Version 5.0, the PLC's ID can only be changed from the TLServer using the host Link commands that you enter at the "Serial port Setup" screen. But first of all you need to know the current ID of the PLC (default is 01) which you can check using the "IR*" command. You will then enter the multi-point format of the "IWnn" command to change the PLC's ID to nn (hex).

 E.g.

"@01IW0500*" to change the PLC ID to 05. (original ID=01)
"@05IWB400*" to change the PLC ID to B4 hex (original ID=05)

(the "00" is a wildcard FCS which overwrite the need to enter the correct error check code called the FCS). Always use IR* to verify that the ID has been correctly changed to the desired number.

 ?
Title: Re: How to change PLC's ID in TL5?
Post by: support on October 24, 2002, 08:57:34 PM
In TLServer 2.0 which is supplied with TRiLOGI Version 5.1, there is a "Change ID" button on the "Serial Port Setup" screen that will help you change the ID automatically. You can still use "@nnIWxx00*" command to do it if you want. But the "Change ID" button just make life a little easier.
Title: Re: How to change PLC's ID in TL5?
Post by: vijay on May 25, 2003, 10:55:49 AM
How can you change the ID of the PLC from the program. Say you want the user to change the ID using a BASIC function. The user could select new ID by two inputs as UP/DOWNbuttons.
Title: Re: How to change PLC's ID in TL5?
Post by: support on June 04, 2003, 01:22:24 PM
That is not possible. The ID cannot be changed by the program itself. Only an external host can change the PLC's ID.
Title: Re:How to change PLC's ID in TL5?
Post by: support on September 04, 2005, 12:02:03 PM
Starting from T100MD+ or T100MX+ PLCs with firmware version r49, the PLC can change its own ID using the command:

    SETSYSTEM  8, n

n is the ID between 0 and 255.

Note: The M-series PLC has always been able to read its own ID using the value returned from the function:

     STATUS(8)