Internet PLC Forum

General => Technical support => Topic started by: cch1955 on May 14, 2012, 04:14:19 PM

Title: Stepper ramp question
Post by: cch1955 on May 14, 2012, 04:14:19 PM
I have application that requires ramping to a stop during a STEPMOVE command and then resuming to end at the final position as defined in the original STEPMOVE.

I am thinking the STEPMOVE command is not designed for this. Can you supply the algorithim you use to for ramping stepper so I can create version in basic to meet my application need.
Thanks
Title: Re:Stepper ramp question
Post by: support on May 15, 2012, 10:14:18 PM
You can set the stepper into motion using the standard STEPMOVE. Then apply STEPSPEED to change the speed on the fly. Note that executing STEPSPEED while stepper is in motion changes the pulse rate immediately to the new speed (i.e. no ramp up or down) so you may need to ramp up or down by executing the STEPSPEED command over a period of time.
Title: Re:Stepper ramp question
Post by: cch1955 on May 16, 2012, 07:21:53 AM
Is it possible to issue a STEPSPEED of zero to stop the move and maintain the current STEPMOVE command and then issue a STEPSPEED  back to the desired speed to resume the move? It would simplify my program task if it can be done.
Thanks
Title: Re:Stepper ramp question
Post by: support on May 16, 2012, 09:39:38 AM
Sorry you can't set the speed to zero.