Author Topic: Nano-10 PLC as Modbus Server?  (Read 6891 times)

peterjung

• I'm a llama!
    • View Profile
Nano-10 PLC as Modbus Server?
« on: February 01, 2016, 05:27:00 AM »
Hi there – I am looking for some pointers in figuring out MODBUS TCP/IP with the Nano-10.  I am new to the Nano-10 and TRI products in general however I am fairly familiar with PLC’s in general.  However I have never used any kind of MODBUS so I am a little bit confused how to implement this with the Nano-10.

I have been able to set up a test rig with a couple of Nano-10’s and I have downloaded a programme and I can monitor online and can see the programme operating nicely.  Now I want to get the Nano-10 to talk to a simple HMI interface over Modbus TCP/IP.

Where I am struggling is how to get the information from the ladder over the MODBUS TCP/IP link to the HMI.

Here is an example of what I mean:

I have a bit programmed as “FAULT” and uses a RLY output of “r9” in my ladder.

I intend the Nano-10 to be the server and the HMI to be the client.  What do I need to do at the PLC end to make “r9” so that this can be read by the HMI?

What would the MODBUS address of “r9” be?  Do I need to copy “r9” to a specific memory address than can then be accessed by the HMI?

I have read up on the READMODBUS and WRITEMODBUS but as far as I can understand these functions are for when the Nano-10 is used as the client and not the server?

I get the feeling I am just not getting something conceptually here?  I would be very grateful if someone can give me a few pointers in this?

support

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
    • Internet Programmable PLCs
Re:Nano-10 PLC as Modbus Server?
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2016, 09:06:18 AM »