Author Topic: Stepper Motor Control  (Read 6934 times)

cthompson

• View Profile
Stepper Motor Control
« on: February 02, 2013, 01:41:10 PM »
I am new to Ladder Logic Programming and am sure that this will be the first of many questions to come, so please be patient.
Is it possible to send one pulse to a stepper motor driver?  I have an application in which certain motors will index one step at predetermined intervals.  
I cannot seem to do this in the simulator.  When i set the stepmove command to 1 step, the popup in the simulator says it moved 0 steps.  Anything two steps or more works fine.
I would like to do this without microstepping if possible, as i read that it reduces torque.
Also, is there a command to clear all IO without clearing the Data Memory?  I have certain DM locations that i would like to retain duiring a stop condition.

support

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
    • Internet Programmable PLCs
Re:Stepper Motor Control
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2013, 02:56:24 PM »
In T100MD+ and T100MX+ PLC the minimum number of steps to be sent to stepper motor is 2. The simulator still adhere to that convention and does not simulate single step.

If you are using a Nano-10, FMD or F-series PLC you can send a single step (STEPMOVE of 1 step) to the stepper motor controller/driver.  The simulator may not show single step but the actual PLC is able to output single step.
Email: support@triplc.com
Tel: 1-877-TRI-PLCS

cthompson

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2013, 06:55:50 PM »
Thank you for your prompt reply.  I have purchased the F2424, but have not put it into operation.  I am in the process of finishing the programming on the simulator before sending to the PLC.
I have another custom function/stepper control question.  I am using a while loop to read the value from an analog sensor attached to ADC(1).  This is compared to a set value and the stepper moves a number of steps until the values converge.