Author Topic: Pachube integration  (Read 7295 times)

JRussell

• I'm a llama!
    • View Profile
Pachube integration
« on: November 04, 2011, 08:47:08 AM »
Hi all!

I am interested in transfering data from a tri plc to an online web data service site called Pachube www.pachube.com, where the data can be graphed and view by the online community.

Pachube can pull or have data pushed to it using XML, JSON, or CSV. The PLC manual says the Fserver is compatible with enterprise software using "web query" methods. Since I am not a programmer I can't quite figure out if this connection will work or not.

It seems like the CSV would work since Excel can query the Fserver for data but I would not rather have excel running on the host computer but rather upload data directly to Pachube.

Could anybody just let me know if Fserver is compatible with XML or JSON? Any advice would be very helpful. Thanks!

ps pachube code info is here
http://community.pachube.com/quickstart

support

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
    • Internet Programmable PLCs
Re:Pachube integration
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2011, 10:03:15 AM »
Any of the Nano-10, FMD or F-series PLC is able to open a socket connection to the webserver such as pachube.com and you then send command to the server using the PRINT #4 command and obtain response from the server using the INPUT$(4) command, as long as the length per line is within the TBASIC string limit of 70 characters you should have no trouble.

It appears that the CSV data format used by pachube.com would be the simplest way to send data to the service. If you are ambitious you can also send command in the JSON or XML format but you will have to create the formatted strings using TBASIC line by line since there is no automatic XML formatter in the programming language.
Email: support@triplc.com
Tel: 1-877-TRI-PLCS

JRussell

• I'm a llama!
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2011, 11:30:48 AM »