Author Topic: continuous cycle timer  (Read 10795 times)

kenobe

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 66
  • I'm a llama!
    • View Profile
continuous cycle timer
« on: October 07, 2008, 02:08:08 AM »
Hi
I am trying to turn on OUTPUT1 for 5 seconds when a START button is pressed, after which , OUTPUT1 will then be turned OFF and OUTPUT2 will then be turned ON for 10 second then turned OFF. The cycle repeats until a STOP button is pressed.

I manage to create a circuit which can only run for 1 cycle, how do I make it run in continuous cycle until a STOP button is pressed? pls help
thanks

my Ladder Diagram circuit is as follow :

START ----------------------- OUTPUT1[Latch]

OUTPUT1 ------------------- T1 ( timer1 5 second)

T1 ---------------------------- OUTPUT1(Clear)
                      |------------- OUTPUT2[Latch]

OUT2 ------------------------ T2 ( timer2 10 second)

T2 ---------------------------- OUT2[Clear]



support

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3171
    • View Profile
    • Internet Programmable PLCs
Re:continuous cycle timer
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2008, 03:34:27 PM »
I didn't answer your question right away as it is a basic ladder logic programming. I am sure you must have gotten your program working after some trials and errors.

For the benefit of those who are are not too familiar with ladder program but would like to know how to fix this part of the program -  all you need to do is to add a parallel contact "T2" to the "Start" button and the program would run repeatedly.
Email: support@triplc.com
Tel: 1-877-TRI-PLCS

kenobe

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 66
  • I'm a llama!
    • View Profile
Re:continuous cycle timer
« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2008, 10:19:29 PM »
I appreciate vely much your advise,
pls forgive my stupidity,
How do I stop the continuous cycle?
Thanks

kenobe

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 66
  • I'm a llama!
    • View Profile
Re:continuous cycle timer
« Reply #3 on: October 08, 2008, 10:35:07 PM »
I use the MaRST to reset the system inroder to stop the continuous cycle. Is is a proper way of ending the cycle?
Thanks

support

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3171
    • View Profile
    • Internet Programmable PLCs
Re:continuous cycle timer
« Reply #4 on: October 09, 2008, 10:02:38 AM »
You need a "Stop" input.

You can add a stop input contact in parallel to the ladder logic  that [Clear] the Out1 and Out 2. So one press of the "Stop" input will clears both Outputs and the timers will be reset.
Email: support@triplc.com
Tel: 1-877-TRI-PLCS

kenobe

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 66
  • I'm a llama!
    • View Profile
Re:continuous cycle timer
« Reply #5 on: October 11, 2008, 12:59:53 AM »
Thank you very much
your advise is very much appreciated
Thanks