Author Topic: LCD and stepper motor question  (Read 6790 times)

vomitz

LCD and stepper motor question
« on: May 16, 2003, 07:31:26 AM »
Hi. is using a 888 with a expansion card with HMI. Everything works fine but when an alarm is sounded off, some of the wordings on the LCD is changed. For example, Automatic will become Automyyic etc. Is there a problem? Would like to know how can i control servo motor with this plc as well.
regards
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 04:00:00 PM by 1076562000 »

AllenF

Re: LCD and stepper motor question
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2003, 05:00:40 PM »
I have used a T100MD to run an Allen/Bradley
Ultra 3000 servo drive.  The Ultra 3000 accepts
step and direction signals and runs a servo motor.

I used a high speed opto between the controller
and the drive. This setup worked very well.

vomitz

« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2003, 06:53:07 PM »
hi allenf. how can it be done? i'm very new to controlling a servo with plc and is trying to learn. i know a servo motor need to be driven with a servo controller right? So the plc will feed signal to the servo controller to drive the motor? What does the plc use? PWM? what's the difference between a servo motor and a stepper motor?

AllenF

« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2003, 05:19:50 PM »
I'm not sure about forum rules so I'll stick with
talking about the T100MD.

The T100 can supply step and direction signals that
are normally used to drive a stepper drive.  The direction
signal simply determines direction of the motor.
The step is the pulse/signal that makes the motor
move a certain amount per pulse.  
The stepper drive basically amplifies the signals
and runs a stepper motor. A stepper motor will
move a certain amount every time a signal/pulse is applied. How much it moves depends on how the drive is configured and the mechanical setup.

The T100 can send out up to 20,000 pulses per second.

Some "intelligent" servo drives can accept this step and
direction signal and use it to drive a servo motor.