Author Topic: PLC questions  (Read 7671 times)

daught

• I'm a llama!
    • View Profile
PLC questions
« on: August 10, 2007, 02:21:09 AM »
Hello. First I would like to say sorry, I am really new to PLCs. Just yesterday I was on wikipedia reading what they really are. Truth is I am not very knowledgeable at electronics beyond basics. I am however on a crash course right now. The company I work for just got a huge project and the weird stuff got handed to me.

My company requires from me control a vehicle gauge cluster for two minutes. What I mean by that, is that the speed and tach gauge needs to be at any position I want it to be during those two minutes. I also need to control the speed of the transition between those two points. Basically I need to make the gauges seem like they are working on the road for two minutes. I figure I can do that with the PWM output. Is that correct? Can I also do it with the AO? What is the difference between the AO and the PWM?

Also I need to control the steering wheel with a stepper motor for two minutes like the car would be driven. Can someone recommend me a stepper motor and a stepper motor driver for such an application to be controlled by your PLC?

Also is there enough programming space on the device to program all these controls?

Thank you very much and again sorry for my "newbiness"

support

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
    • Internet Programmable PLCs
Re:PLC questions
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2007, 09:06:46 AM »
It will depend on the full scale voltage and current consumption of the gauges that you are using to determine if the PLC has output that can drive them directly. How many gauges do you need to drive? The AO output from T100MD888+ PLCs are 0-5V high impedance type (sources only micro-ampere current) so not suitable if the gauges need mA of current to drive them.