Author Topic: Need help with motor control  (Read 7351 times)

LCW

• I'm a llama!
    • View Profile
Need help with motor control
« on: March 28, 2007, 01:37:47 PM »
Hi everyone,
I'm new to PLC and just got a T100MD888. I finished the tutorial on how to create the ladder logic and tbasic. I'm now trying to control a 5V motor using ON/OFF from the PLC. Using the online monitor and pause, I can click to turn digital output channel 1 on and off at will. I have connected the motor (with its own power source) to channel 1, and the ground to the PLC 0V.

Problem now is when I complete the circuit by connecting the motor to channel 1, the motor always turn on. Channel 1 and 2 LED will come on. No matter what I tried - turning channel 1 and 2 off, etc, the motor always runs. In short, motor always runs as long as PLC is on. What I'm trying to achieve is using a channel to turn the motor on and off.

Is is normal? I must be missing something  :( All help is appreciated.

support

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
    • Internet Programmable PLCs
Re:Need help with motor control
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2007, 01:52:41 PM »
T100MD888+ outputs are NPN type, which means it sinks current from the load to 0V (as oppose to sourcing current to external load). Ideally the motor should be using the same voltage as the PLC's power supply (12 to 24V DC), that way you can simply connect the + terminal of power to + terminal of DC motor and - terminal of DC motor to the PLC's output. Please refer to the T100MD888+ installation guide (white 8 page booklet that come in the box) for the wiring method.

If your motor is 5V, then you will need an external 5V power supply to connect to the motor "+", and the motor "-" will connect via a diode to the PLC output:

+5V ------(Motor)-------|>|-----o PLC output.